Job Scam: MBC Company
Apr 26th, 2008 by Greg Bulmash
Just got a job scam, though I'm a bit stumped as to what the catch is. According to this, they send you packages that you then forward on. They pay your mailing costs and $50 on top of it for the service... per package. I'm figuring there's something illegal in the packages and they're using you to muddy the trail back to them so if the cops intercept a package, they're having to track it back through multiple blind drops. But that's only supposition.
Here's the e-mail:
MBC CompanyOur company "MBC Co." offers a part-time work giving you an opportunity to earn extra money for your family budget!!!
Here is some information about us: "MBC Co." co-operates with business partners in more than 180 countries in Europe, North and South America, Middle East and Asia. Our company was founded 3 years ago. By now "MBC Co." has achieved the reputation of reliable and secure company. Our fields of activity are various. We find firms and people and arrange a contract between them. We appear as a guarantee between a firm and an employee.
At present we are opening a new mail delivery service and seeking for personell. Yet this is only a part-time work, however we are intending to develop this service and in case if you are interested, we are ready to permanent co-operating.
The essense of your work is following:
Our client sends you a letter (or an envelope). You take it to the nearest DHL or PonyExpress office and send it to our client. If the letter is shipped with regular mail it takes months to deliver it to the reciever, which is unacceptable due to our client's business level. That is why we are helping our clients to have their mail delivered in any place on the Earth as soon as possible.This is a well-paid job. The wage for each letter is approximately 50$. The more letters you recieve - the more money you earn.
If you wish to gare interested in our offer or have any questions about the "MBC Co.":
Please complete in block letters and be attentively the following form:
Full name:
Adress:
City:
State:
Zip:
Phone:
E-mail:
Please send your information to e-mail: Support.MbcCo@gmail.comPlease, write your data correctly! If it is required we'll call you. You will receive further instructions.
Thanks for your attention, post-service MBC Company.
FAQ:
1. Who do I recieve the package from? - You recieve it from our clients, who are not able to send it with express mail abroad.
2. You are not allowed to open any files or envelopes.
3. How much do I get paid? - You are paid 50$ for each package. You recieve the package, we give you the money for the redelivery. You give us the tracking number of DHL or Pony Express.
4. The best variant is to send the package the day you recieved it.
5. The DHL or PonyExpress delivery doesn't cost more than 100$. as you recieve the package, you send us an e-mail. We send a money transfer to your account in 2 days.
6. Can I send the package with some other mail? - No, DHL or PonyExpress only.
7. What about taxes? - Don't worry, you don't have to pay any taxes.
8. How many packages a month can be sent? - We can send up to ten packages a day, if this is allright with you. The amount of money depends on the amount of packages.
9. Your work is not hard, you don't have to invest anything. We are paying you for the service.
10. All operations of our company are legal which is confirmed by a number of international legal statements.
11. Who is responsible in case if client is not satisfied with the service? - Our company
www.worldmbc.net
Now, this has all the hallmarks of a scam:
- High pay for unskilled labor
- The web site they send you to was registered on March 20th (barely over a month old) and it was registered out of Russia.
- The sender's "from" address is at a completely unrelated domain and you're supposed to reply to an address at a free e-mail service.
Besides the possibility that they're having you help move contraband, the part about them sending a money transfer to your account in two days has me suspicious. It may be that the packages are full of newspaper and ping-pong balls. The trick will be getting you to provide your bank account information so they can send you a wire transfer to cover shipping costs. Then they use it to forge a wire transfer from your account instead of to it.
Anyway, I'm sorry I can't give as many details on the scam behind this that I do on other scams, but this is raising all the red flags and the odds of it being on the level are next to nil. Don't reply to this, don't give them any personal information.
Best of luck to you all.
It's a well known scam. Everything seems great, you recieve the package and then forward it on via DHL, Fed Ex, etc, And you get a slice of the pie.... That is, untill the feds show up at your door and arrest you for receiving stolen goods, as well as charging you with credit card fraud.
The "company" is just using you as a mule so that the crime cannot be connected directly to them. Think about it, do you really think snail mail would actually take months and months, even in the worst third world country? If the company's "clilents" are legit, why would they even need to hire you as a go-between when they could just as easily use DHL, or Fed Ex themselves?
Here's a link that further documents how some of the internet scams opperate: (While this link discusses eBay scams, but many of the same scams are tweeked to apply anywhere else as well)
http://h1.ripway.com/pi_r_square/scams.html
Beware and be aware.
Jill
I just received the same email. i suspect the trick has nothing to do with envelopes. Its about getting your banking information. Once they do, they will ping your account and your bank will send money as if you had authorized it. The fact that your bank has signature cards to verify your signature on a check seems to provide us with a false sense of security. The reality is that anyone can ping your account with the proper name, account and routing info.
I had something like this happen a few years ago, where I found that Bank of America had been sending roughly 35 dollars per month to two "subscriptions," which I had never subscribed. When I attempted to get Bank of America to stop it, they could not/would not easily. I ended up canceling the accounts. The charges on my statement seemed to be a service/transaction charge.
Altogether, I estimate they hit me for about a thousand dollars. The other disappointment was that Bank of America refused to take action against those charging the account each month nor were they willing to replace the funds that had been sent.
The third disappointment was that this was a checking account that I did not use normally. I became aware of the problem when I received a notice that there were insufficient funds to cover a payment. Bank of America then charged me an overdraft fee of like $50 or something. The disappointment was that they still required me to pay the overdraft fee, even though I had not authorized the payment.
Homeland Security has a site where you can forward this type of scam and surprisingly, they are very responsive. I posted an email to them and actually received a telephone call within hours. They advised me that they were already tracking and investigating this particular scam and thanked me for contacting them.
The moral of the story is: the scam is against you.
Good Luck!
I recieved pretty much the same thing here it is:
Company Name
M.B.C.
Job Category
Accounting/Finance; Account/Manager
Location
USA
Position Type
Full-Time, Employee, Part-Time
Salary
$25K -$50K
Experience
1+
Desired Education Level
High School or Equivalent
Date Posted
May 1, 2008
Web Site
http://www.worldMBC.net
Leading international company is expanding! We have an exciting opening for a Financial Representative. Please attach your resume in DOC or reach text format and apply right now. This position is limited.
Job Summary:
You will make some basic tasks from your manager daily; manage personal assets; making simple financial operations. You don't need to have any kind of financial education or experience. We will make online training for position offered. You will have more information in JOB DESCRIPTION document. Apply now.
Requirements: USA citizenship or USA permanent residency
High school or College in relevant field or 1+ years experience in management; basic computer, good verbal and grammar skills; must have a cellular phone for urgent tasks; must be able to work part-time; must provide resume for qualification process.
ALL RESUMES WILL BE CONFIRMED AND VERIFIED. THE SELECTED CANDIDATE MUST PASS A CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK
If you're interested send your full name, phone number, age and RESUME to: Support.MBCCompany@gmail.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
they even attached a word document explaining further, but I wont bore you with the details, point is yea it's a scam. If you are reading this and looking for a job stop using careerbuilder/monster/craigslist I have got no hits from any of these places ( and my resume is flawless) Craigslist is a little better but you still get these scams. My advice if you need work now go through a temp agency I have always had good luck and it has lead to better jobs.........if you get any email that has poor grammer and mispellings.......its a scam!
I received the same email as previous poster (Hammer,) forunately hotmail caught it and put it in my junk box. I'm always curious about the latest scams so I read it. Glad someone has this one explained, hopefully it deters some poor shmuck from making a bad decision.