Job Scam: Dating Euro Union
Apr 29th, 2008 by Greg Bulmash
The angle on this one is different than ones I've seen before. They want to pay you for proofreading services. And the rates they're offering are actually a little lower than a random check of per-word pricing from a couple of random proofreading services I looked up. But there's our first big flag. There are LOTS of people out there offering this service and would be glad to offer a volume discount.
Here's the mail:
From: "Mr. Swenson" <teeq@acryglas.com>
Hello!We offer a part time job on your computer.
Job Description:
We will provide you with the texts for our employees with the important information and you will correct the texts as an english speaking person and send them back to us.
Salary:
We don't have a fixed salary for this vacancy. We will pay you $7.00 for every 1Kb of the corrected text. You will get paid at the END of each month. Every month your salary will be different as it depends on your activity.Example: If you correct about 5Kb of texts per day you will get over $1000.00 at the end of the month.
Requirements:
-Location: USA
-Age: 20+
-Home computer, e-mail address and Microsoft Word
-ResponsibilityTo apply for job please send us the following information to:
dating.uniongroup@gmail.com__________
FULL NAME: HOME ADDRESS:
CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE:
Phone number (home or cell, but SHOULD BE available any day time):
E-MAIL:
AGE:
OCCUPATION:
EDUCATION:
AVAILABLE HOUR TO WORK WITH US:----------
As soon as we revise your aplication we will contact you within 24 hours.
If you have any additional questions, feel free to ask.
Awaiting for your application.With respect Dating Euro Union
Now here are the red flags...
- The "from" address is not only different than the one they ask you to reply to, but comes from a domain (acryglas.com) that has absolutely nothing to do with the business they're claiming to be (Dating Euro Union).
- There are any number of companies offering this service so they could get a one-stop solution with one bill and no employees to manage. Even if they save a small amount on the rate this way, any real business can run the numbers and see this wouldn't be cost-effective.
- This came in to an e-mail address that hasn't been actively used since the 90's meaning that they got it off a purchased spam list. If they're purchasing lists of e-mail addresses and spamming this out, that makes them suspect.
- I'm sorry, but copy editing and proofreading require skill, talent, and education. You're not qualified for it merely because you're a native English speaker. A good editor is worth a ton of money.
Most likely, the scam is that they'll ask for your bank account and bank routing numbers so they can wire transfer or direct deposit your monthly salary. Next thing you know, they've used the information to forge a wire transfer out of your account and you're cleaned out.
As inviting as it seems, this has all the hallmarks of a criminal scam. Do not reply to it, do not give these people your personal information, and do not give them any banking information.
Best of luck to you all.
Thanks!
Got this today, you were the FIRST on the google list!!!
I got this email too. Funny how the internet can be used for both good and evil.
haha, cheers mate. just got this mail....
Got this mailed to me a few times over the past week dont know how they got my email but im self employed and satisfied with my work so i would,nt have replyed anyway
Just got this one today as well....in Canada here - lucky for me they want people in the USA only
I figured it was bad because they use the same format as the "INTERNET LOTTO WINNER!!! Yee haw, ur email address just won $2,000,000,000!!!... If you read below, what they want back from you it's EXACTLY the same as what the Dating Euro people want.
FULL NAME:
HOME ADDRESS:
CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE:
Phone number (home or cell, but SHOULD BE available any day time):
E-MAIL:
AGE:
OCCUPATION:
EDUCATION:
AVAILABLE HOUR TO WORK WITH US:
The only difference is that they added "Education, and Available hours".
One of the first things I always do is check the email address from where the message came from and compare it to the email address provided on the "reply-to" field.
Also, after the @... like ur_email@hotmail.com
Go and type whatever comes after the @, unless it's dedicated for a webmail, these "ends" are domain names and usually have a website. Oh, of course, you can always Google it, but don't trust the first link that come up!.. I'm sure you know better than that.
Also got spam email like that for many times.So, my suggestion just create one personal email, keep private no publications. Only for our trusted friends. And create one email, for publications.
thanks alot for the info! got it today!
thanks for the info! I got it today too! We've got to look out for each other from these bottom-dwelling rip-off artists out there! Keep up the good work guys!
My letter started with the generic salutation "Dear job seeker", similar to a phishing letter. That's what tipped me off. In any case, thanks for confirming my gut feeling.
Thanks. I almost got caught up in this. Unemployed for a year, then underemployed... my finances are a mess. This started as an "editing" position, but then they offered me a job doing wire transfers. Since this involved tapping into the personal information in my bank account, the alarms went off. So glad I found your site before going any further. I'm safe thanks to you!
Just got this one again, this time with the name Iris Meeks as the sender and datingcompany.crow@gmail.com as the reply address in the body of the mail. Almost reposted it, but the text is otherwise exactly the same. I'm surprised it got through the spam filters, but it did.
These jerks are relentless.
- Greg
THANK YOU THANK YOU for saving me time and worry.
I GOT THIS TODAY- BUT MINE IS FROM
Madeline Slaughter (wopvg@book-dealers.com)
Thanks to people like you, many of us are not being ripped off. I also got a really good fake paypal e-mail the other day.. took me to an identical site- only difference was the address in the bar was not paypal.com. Be careful, all!!
I got this a few days after I submitted my resume on Monster.com looking for an online job! thanks for letting me know about this group.
Thanks so much - I am traveling abroad this fall and wondering if this might be an easy way to make some spending $$ on the go... Fortunately I googled the company to see what it was all about and this page popped up. Thanks again!!
Just as above, I googled "Dating Euro Union" and this page popped fist in line! I got this scamletter yesterday, knew it was bogus BS ... Good rule of thumb: If it sounds to good too be true ... it IS too good to be true!
Same here also, addys were different
sender: cyjflbatnln@bmwleasing.com.
A search on this addy took me to an ad page for leasing companies/services that was sponsored by "godaddy.com"
Reply: hrdating.glaine@gmail.com.
When I tried "hrdating.glain" in addy bar ... it led to nowhere, nothing was found. Then I googled "hrdating" and it actually turned up a dating sight. An UK site called "hrdating" ... amazingly enough! lol
The senders name was: Bobbie Marquez (?)
I figure the dude/chick used this site for the email addy they usually give you for contacts, so he is a registered user. Did a site search for "Bobbie Marquez" of course, nothing turned up. They only offered a "user name" search and oddly to me, they do this for non-members? Dunno, just found that a little lax.
Anyways... I ramble ...
Thanks for the heads-up and all.
Peace & Love,
~M