Looks like the check fraudsters ran out of dupes and are trying to recruit a fresh batch of new ones. Just got the following e-mail...
RECEIVED-FROM: [78.169.10.42] (helo=yuksel5) by XXXXXXXX with esmtp (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from) id 1KE5xK-0002Wt-6Z; Wed, 02 Jul 2008 10:17:23 -0700
FROM: qknrw@bluecoilspring.com
SUBJECT: RE: your resume
We have considered your resume and we are glad to offer you a position to work from home as it will suit you best of all in our opinion. The work will not require any investments on your part. All you need for its successful performance is a computer with Internet connection as we communicate by e-mail, and you will also need a printer and a few free hours a day. To begin working with us you will have to sign an employment agreement. Your average income per month may amount to 1500$ or even more.If you are interested in our offer please write us a letter and we will give you more detailed information.
Contact e-mail address: mmmharrison@gmail.com
P.S. This job is available only for those living within US territory.
Best regards.
Of course, the first big red flag is that it's "from" a nonsense string (qknrw) at a legitimate domain, but they ask me to reply to a free e-mail service like gmail, not back to that domain. If this is a legitimate offer of employment from bluecoilspring.com, why aren't they asking me to mail them back at bluecoilspring.com?
If you look in the headers, you also find that the HELO (which is the identifier that the sending mail server sends) is not for bluecoilspring.com, but for "yuksel5", and if you check out the IP address over at DNSStuff.com, that address can be traced to somewhere in Turkey.
Obviously, the biggest red flag is that someone's spamming you and offering a complete stranger $18,000 or more a year for easy work that only takes a few free hours a day.
Don't fall for it, don't reply, and if you did reply, do not cash any checks for them!
Best of luck to you all.

Entries (RSS)
I attract scammers like mosquitos!!! I have received several scams, via the e-mail and through the mail! One through the mail said I won a prize through Publisher's Clearinghouse. However, the envelope was from Canada and the letter's address was from Arizona and the check was on a bank from Florida.... pretty easy to realize it was a scam.
The others have been through e-mail and not as easy to recognize, especially since I have ads for jobs on Craigslists and others. Here is such an example of a scam I received by e-mail:
Need a second job?
Are you interested in working from Home ? Do you need Money A.S.A.P.....
Do you need money for Gas, Grocceries, Bills, Rent, Mortgage etc A.S.A.P. ?????
Are you looking for a part-time, spare-time or full-time income?
See how you can add up to $1200 a month to what you are already making...in just 5-6 hours a week!
JOB DISCRIPTION
We are looking for a male/female our accounting team from his/her home for Processing of Accounts Payable, Check Printing and mailing,Direct Deposit from your home.
Note:You can only apply for the position if you have print at home and access to computer
:We are looking for hard working and serious people for this position :Must be responsible,reliable,excellent communication and good computer skills.
This is a part-time job...Suitable for Housewives,employed, unemployed,retired persons...Part-time or full-time at whatever time suits you..
If you are interest reply back
Thanks.
Alex Ferguson,
Xplor International.
Xplor International is actually a legitimate company, I have received others as well. It is very frustrating when I am looking for a job to keep getting these scams and not actual job offers!!!