Just got this one. It's not as obvious that it's a scam because they use a lot of corporate doublespeak to talk in circles about the job itself, but it carries the big hallmarks of a scam. I'll run the text and then we can look at the big red flags.
From: Kerri Durham <ufljhcw@borelweb.com>
Received: from ppp92-100-85-69.pppoe.avangarddsl.ru ([92.100.85.69] helo=home-04c0431ee3)Hello Jobseeker,
Please find below new interest in your resume from our Employer:
Job Information:
Job Title: Coordinator of Delivery Department
Location: USA, All States
Job Type: Home based, part-time
Salary: 35,000$-45,000$ + Bonuses
Company Name: JET DELIVERY, INC.
Webpage: www.jetdelivery.comMessage From Job Poster:
Please find out the information about our available position.
E-mail for resume: hiring.jetdelivery@gmail.com
Contact name: John TrambltonRESPONSIBILITIES
Leadership & Self Development
Work with supervisor to establish individual development goals
Meet/exceed individual development goals and objectives.
Promote teamwork and a positive working environment in order to achieve team goals.
Participate in team-training sessions consistent with AddressUsa & Service processConsistently meet/exceed all delivery goals, retention goals and customer service standards.
Proactively profile customer needs and match our products features & benefits to those needs.
Effectively utilize decision/exception tools to support valuable customer retentionOperations & Compliance
Assist in the compliance of all aspects of the Leadership Scorecard
Perform Teller responsibilities, as neededFinancial
Other duties as required
Job Requirements
A) Education:School strongly required.
B) Experience:
Not required.
C) Job Skills / Knowledge:
Demonstrated:
Strong customer service skills
Ability acquire knowledge of competitors’ products, services, and strategies
Working knowledge of computer and processing skills (E-Mail, Internet, Word, Excel, etc.).
Ability to learn all software systems that support branch transportation processing.
Strong commitment to achieving personal growth and success
Good verbal and written communication skills.
Good organizational skills.If you are interested in this position, please e-mail us your resume at: hiring.manager@jetdeliverysupport.com
PLEASE DO NOT REPLY TO THIS E-MAIL
If you reply to this email, your reply will not be read. If you have questions or comments for CareerBuilder, please use our Feedback form.
Our first big flag, waving with blinking lights and bells on it, is the second line. In most e-mail programs, you won't see it unless you tell the program to show "all" headers. Most programs just show from, to, subject, and date. But there are underlying headers that show deeper info and I included one of them here:
Received: from ppp92-100-85-69.pppoe.avangarddsl.ru ([92.100.85.69] helo=home-04c0431ee3)
Though they claim it's CareerBuilder contacting you on an employer's behalf, it came out of some computer in Russia. Job offers from Russia are HUGE red flags, especially if you go to the jetdelivery.com site and find out that the company is based out of California, not Russia.
A couple of the more common red flags...
- The "sender"/"from" e-mail address is a nonsense string at a domain totally unrelated to the business trying to recruit you (ufljhcw@borelweb.com).
- Instead of replying to a legitimate address at the business, you're instructed to reply to a throwaway address at a free mail service like gmail, yahoo, hotmail, or live.com.
- Besides the fact that it's a throwaway address, it's also different than the address that sent the mail. Some legitimate agencies do the "mail from one person, reply to another" thing, but it's usually all at the same domain.
But wait, you point out, near the end they provide a contact address with a legitimate domain name...hiring.manager@jetdeliverysupport.com.
Sorry, but jetdeliverysupport.com and jetdelivery.com are two entirely different beasts. JetDelivery.com has a web site up and has been registered for around 10 years. JetDeliverySupport.com has no web site up and has been registered for around 3 weeks. They're just using a domain name that's like JetDelivery.com to throw you off the scent. But the lack of a web site and the fact it's only been registered for around 3 weeks is another huge red flag.
They did one thing better than the average scammer. They lowered the promised income. One of the big warning signs is "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is," and when someone's offering 75-100 thousand dollars for part time work that requires no skill, education, or experience, that should set off alarm bells in anyone's head. They've cut those promises in half.
Second, they use a lot of corporate doublespeak to get around saying what the job involves. A lot of scammers tip their hats too early and talk about cashing checks, money orders, or PayPal payments and wiring them, which is not just a big red flag, but a blaring loudspeaker that shouts "this is a scam." These scammers are smart enough to avoid that, plus the talk about customer service skills, delivery goals, and retention goals, makes it sound very official. They're definitely smarter than the average scammer.
But, as smart as they are, they still make certain VERY common mistakes that give away the fact that this is totally bogus.
Don't respond to them, don't give them any personal information, don't work for them. This is not Jet Delivery of California, but Russian scam artists. You will not make money. You'll lose money.
Best of luck to you all.

Entries (RSS)
Thanks for the details on this scam, Greg. I just received this email and thought it was bogus, but needed the proof.
Do you think CareerBuilder knows about this scam? Will they care if I forward them this email?
Best wishes,
Alex
Thank you,
I am out of work & would have fallen for this one.
Joel
Greg,
Yes, thank you for putting this information out here to your readers. We are working with Google, and the Russian registrar to shutdown these malicious sites and mailboxes. It is our belief that this may be the second wave of a phishing attempt we saw last month that involved a site careersearch4you.com. Last month we were able to get the phishing site taken offline within a few days.
Thanks, I wish I had read your article BEFORE getting this email. Just lost a job after 10 years with them and thought this was legit since the company is in the USA... now I wonder what they will do with my personal info...
This is the info they sent me:
Agreement.Jet Delivery
From: jetdelivery@careerforsearch.com
I am glad to be informed that you are ready to start working in Jet Delivery Inc. I have reviewed your information and we are ready tohire you for the Coordinator of Delivery Department and Logistics Position. Before you can start the contract between you and our GeneralDirector must be signed. I attach the necessary documents to my letter. Please follow the next steps: You can find a word document "Agreement" attached to my letter. Please look through the form carefully, than print it and sign. After it sendme the page with your signature scanned in .pdf format to my email address. It is necessary that you send me the scanned copy. After I receive the contract it will be reviewed and signed by our General Director. What will you do next? After I receive the signature in the EmployeeContract you are the Coordinator of Delivery Department andLogistics of Jet Delivery Inc. That means that you will get your salary in 30 days. We paymonthly 1537$. You will be informed about the coming post by e-mail and by phone. But if it is impossible to reachyou by phone, you will be contacted only by e-mail. That's why I suggest you to check your mail boxseveral times a day. Our Manager will send you all the necessary instructions and information about the salary bonuses. Now I will be waiting for your documents and I will be very glad to see you as partner of Jet Delivery Inc. Jeffrey McKingstonHiring ManagerJet Delivery Inc
WOW! so regretful i gave up my personal info. i also researched the actual company in CA and saw they were legitimate. i don't know how far people got into the process, but i asked LOTS of detailed questions and they did not answer mine. BUT THEY SENT AN AGREEMENT - DO NOT SIGN IT!!! if you read the fine (really tiny) print... you will find that they request for you to sign up for LIFE INSURANCE paid for by them and to make them the SOLE reciever of those life insurance funds when you die. GETTING SUSPICIOUS YET?? yeah, i did and that's when i started digging much deeper. thanks so much for this. very regretful i sent any of my personal info.
Might not be of great interest, but received a mail today here in Norway from the mentioned ufljhcw@borelweb.com... pretending to be a request for picking up a package from UPS. Very convincing, I AM waiting for an UPS-package and almost opened the attached invoice, when I noticed it was a Zip-file...
"Unfortunately we were not able to deliver postal package you sent on September the
1st in time
because the recipient?s address is not correct.
Please print out the invoice copy attached and collect the package at our office
Your UPS"
Not the first time I get "please-open-the-zipfile-mails", does anyone knows what usually hides in those zips?