Just got the following scam e-mail (most likely an advance fee scam) slipping through Yahoo's spam filters.

From: "Microsoft Award Promo" <06826134d@polyu.edu.hk>
To: undisclosed-recipients

This is to inform you that you have won $2.5 Million USD in the
quarterly promo of the Microsoft Award Promo.Your email address was
attached to the winning number.Contact the Claims Agent right away his
email address is: marysmithclaimagent@gmail.com Regards, Steven Smith.

Now there are a number of red flags here:

  • the nonsense address it was sent from, supposedly at some educational institution in Hong Kong.
  • that it's to "undisclosed recipients," meaning it was bulk mailed to multiple people who each presumably won this $2.5 million prize.
  • the reply address isn't at Microsoft.com, but at a free mail service.

But what's the biggest sign this is bogus? Gmail.com is owned by Google, considered by Microsoft to be one of its greatest competitors. This would be like someone telling you that you won the Coca Cola sweepstakes and to reply to an e-mail address at Pepsi.

Not sure who to consider a bigger dummy, the brain-dead criminal who spammed this out or anyone who falls for it.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Blog Contents Copyright © 2006-2008 Greg Bulmash