Archive for the “Success” Category

Just got a fake job solicitation in my e-mail. It almost triggered the spam filters it seems, but just slipped in under. Like the Articlebat.org e-mail, it purported to come through Vertical Response, but this time, Google noted in the headers that the IP address was not a permitted sender under Vertical Response's SPF policy.

Additionally, the spam analysis from my anti-spam software noted that the IP address was in two greylist/blacklist databases and it's out of Toronto.

Here's the e-mail text:

We're looking for US Native Speaker writer for our e-commerce website's blog. Our priority will be writers from US.

Our payment will be: Fixed salary

We will determine the keywords,topic and amount of the word you'll write. We'll send you all the necessary information before you start writing. Your English MUST be error free, grammatically correct, friendly and fluent. Learn more
Thanks for reading.

Click to view this email in a browser

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line or simply click on the following link: Unsubscribe
Quality Inn and Suites Anaheim Resort
1441 South Manchester Avenue
Anaheim, California 92802
United States
Read the VerticalResponse marketing policy.

Followed the link in a sandboxed browser and ended up at 3000robots.net with... An Articlebat resume submission form.

They went from almost tricky to completely bogus. Don't get your hopes up and don't waste your time.

Share

Comments Comments Off

Well, around the first Monday of March, a bunch of job-hunt irons I'd had in the fire all got hot. I picked up a short term contract with a consulting firm I'd interviewed with at the end of February and responses on four jobs I'd applied for.

No perm offers yet, but I'm keeping my head above water and have one interview scheduled with another likely to be scheduled. And both of those positions are interesting roles with cool companies. Really hope one turns into an offer.

Share

Comments Comments Off

Got this a couple of days ago, getting through my gmail spam filter:

How are you? I represent Dealmax LTD Personnel Dept. and I'm responsible for
headhunting among the candidates for the open positions with our
organization. We have read with interest your information disclosed at
Career Builder site detailing your relevant work experience and
qualifications and want to offer you a well-paid part-time job opportunity.
We believe you can be considered as a successful candidate for the vacancy.
If you are interested in our company and in more information on this
position, feel free to contact the HR.

Thank you for your consideration and have a nice day.

Aside from the standard "if it seems to be too good to be true, it is" and the standard caution against unsolicited recruitment offers from Hotmail accounts (this one came from Hermione Z. Jefferson - ven4456medema@hotmail.com), the biggest red flag is their return address.

The reply address was Recruitment@DealmaxLtd.com. The domain DealmaxLtd.com was registered on February 2, 2011. Yes, just 5 days ago. If you've got dirty laundry older than the company's domain, that's a HUGE red flag.

Be careful of these folks.

Share

Comments 6 Comments »

This one just slipped through my spam filters, and I thought I'd share. As usual, the letter and then a debunking below it.

Dear Sir/Madam,

1st Delivery Inc. offers an opportunity to apply for a full/part time position of Delivery Service Assistant for the United States citizens and legal aliens (Note: Previous experience in the delivery service is not required).

1st Delivery Inc. is a premier global provider of delivery service solutions, specializing in the international delivery solutions, with the long-term commitment history.

Read the rest of this entry »

Share

Comments 41 Comments »

Get an angel for your site An Angel Watches Over This Site