Just got the following e-mail slipping through my spam filters. I'll post it below, then show you how to tell it's a scam.
From:Enid Friend <[they used MY e-mail address as the From address]>
Received: from [93.122.135.24] (helo=abbotsford.k12.wi.us)
Subject: Position Opening
Hello
Prime Group has a new vacancy opened in your region.
Please read this email and see if you will be a good match for this available position!
Prime Group Inc. is a world-famous company founded in Eastern Europe with branches throughout Europe, Asia and North America.
Two to three hours a day in the leisure of your home performing your duties over the Internet is sufficient for this position.
We provide one month paid training period. During your training you receive online training and phone support.
At the end of the evaluation period supervisor will make the final decision to extend job offer or not.
Read the rest of this entry »
4 Comments »
Just got the following scam spam slipping in through my mail filters. I'll post the e-mail, then point out the red flags after it.
From: Arline Hazel <bhufruau5579@hotmail.com>
Subject: ProLineGames_J0B (700).
Company name: ProLineGames ltd.
Job title: Project Coordinator
Position type: Part-Time/Virtual office
Location: US only
Read the rest of this entry »
13 Comments »
Seems like every time I update my resume on Careerbuilder, I can expect three groups to contact me: franchise consultants, people pushing MLM opportunities, and insurance companies looking for people to become agents. The most consistent of the ones in the third category is Farmer's Insurance.
Whether or not I mention a sales background on my resume, whether or not I express an interest in sales, Farmer's can be relied upon, like Clockwork, to send me a recruiting e-mail.
"Based on my initial review of your resume, I believe you may be an excellent fit for our Career Opportunity in sales..." Like how he capitalizes "career opportunity"? At least it's not in all caps. Still, what about my resume made him believe I'd be an excellent fit? I've e-mailed that question to the sender and I'll let you know what he says... if he responds.
6 Comments »
It seems that when the job scam spams reach my mailbox, they come in waves. This one came in about 8 hours after the last one. I'll post the actual mail, then we'll look at the red flags it raises.
From: Lori Sofia <thhyddea3964@hotmail.com>
Subject: Business Consultant needed. (856)
To: patelkunalr.myjobs@gmail.com
Hello.
JCC Inc. is an international company, specializing in management consulting.
We offer a full complex of consulting services to help our clients to start or improve new business. That is why request in JCC Inc. services is growing all the time.
Read the rest of this entry »
46 Comments »