This one just slipped through my spam filters. I'll post the e-mail and then we'll look at the red flags.

From: Josefina Long <dingo2@esplanade.com>

Greetings,
You have received this message because you have published your resume at careerbuilder.com and you meet our criteria. And we offer position in our company.
Our company Morgan Trade Group was established in 1999, when an escalating market predetermined the urge of great number of companies-importers towards the complete control of their traffic. Thus, the growing tendency of upcoming companies and consumers to resort to services of particularized companies-forwarders created favorable conditions for the birth of Morgan Trade Group.

We provide the best working conditions for our employees:

Working with us you will get:

- fixed salary
- career growth
- qualified support of the skilled managers
- work in one of progressive team of the Europe
- challenging experience in the highly perspective field of business with great future career possibilities.

We provide an annual salary of $65,000/year. The salary is paid monthly or twise a month.
You will get flexible scheme of work and work in optimal time for you.

For additional information and if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask them via email derek.miller.mtg@gmail.com
It's not multi-level marketing, not sales position and absolutely free for start.

Please reply only to our e-mail: miller.derek.mtfg@gmail.com

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Regards
Derek Miller

First, don't blame CareerBuilder. Every legitimate contact I've received through CareerBuilder was through CareerBuilder. Basically, in all those cases CB acted as a middleman and it wasn't until/unless I replied that there was direct contact between myself and the employer or recruiter. They didn't get your name or address from CareerBuilder. They've sent this to millions of people, but the people most likely to get fooled by their scam are people who are job hunting, and those people probably have a resume on CareerBuilder. They're just playing the odds by saying that's how they found you.

Second, this e-mail shows the oldest red flag in the book. The e-mail is from someone at esplanade dot com (which is a theater complex in Singapore), which has NOTHING to do with Morgan Trade Group. Then it tells me to reply to someone at a gmail address, which is Google's free e-mail service. Gmail is one of the more common ones the scammers use, but it could also be Hotmail, Live.com, or Yahoo too. The mail from an address totally unrelated to the business and a request to reply to an address at a free mail service is a dead giveaway every time. I have NEVER seen this happen when it wasn't a scam.

Now, furthermore, if you look at the underlying mail headers in the message source of the mail I received, you'll find Received: from [88.241.101.78] (helo=dsl88.241-25934.ttnet.net.tr). Now if they have an army of virus-infected zombies shooting these out, you may have received yours from anywhere. But we'll use mine for the purposes of example.

Even if this was somehow legit, the .tr top level domain is used for the country of Turkey. Why would someone claiming to be affiliated with a theater complex in Singapore be mailing me from a DSL line in Turkey?

Now, they don't tip their hand as to what the scam is, but it's pretty much going to be package forwarding or check cashing. These are the two that most often come up with the job offer scams. But with these huge, flashing warning signs, do you really need to know exactly how they're going to rip you off or use you as a shill to rip someone else off? Are you going to reply and get yourself on some criminal's radar just to satisfy your curiosity?

As my dad told me: "If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is." If someone sweeps in out of the blue and offers you a dream salary for a job they don't even define, you gotta figure that something's not right. That's probably why you googled these people and found my page.

I know it's tough. We're at 7.2% unemployment and rising in the U.S., and that doesn't even include the millions of people working part time who'd like to be working full time. I wish I could have told you this was on the level, but these folks are bad news. Don't reply to them.

Best of luck to you.

  • Share/Bookmark
16 Responses to “Job Scam: Morgan Trade Group”
  1. Gary Schnabl says:

    I got the same one too a few minutes ago. Reported it to SpamCop.

    Actually, I get quite a few like them--one to maybe a dozen weekly. A "real" company with a gmail address: mailto:derek.miller.mtg@gmail.com? They must have paid their employees so well that they cannot afford to have a better email account...

  2. Jordan says:

    Noticed the same one in my spam folder this morning. Temasek is the Singapore company that managers the Singapore government's investments. I'm sure Temasek would be happy to know their name is being used for spam mail.

  3. Lindsey says:

    I received the same email this morning. It doesn't surprise me to see it is a scam. There's so many scams out today and the fact it came through spam sends a red flag. Sounds great, but sounds like you would be scamming customers eventually....no thanks.

  4. Paul says:

    Just received this as well. Fowarded to FBI

  5. Betsy says:

    Thanks for the explanation. I, too, got one - and had decided it was spam by the grammar and spelling but was curious and did a google search which is how I found your site. I do not have a resume posted on career builder so this spammer is raking around, probably, I think, as a step towards identity theft.

    Mine does not have the underlying heading of esplanade or Turkey but is as follows.
    Received: from eastrmimpi03.cox.net ([68.1.16.121])
    by eastrmmtai108.cox.net
    (InterMail vM.7.08.02.01 201-2186-121-102-20070209) with ESMTP
    id

  6. Matthew McKinley says:

    I just got the same one.

  7. Nikki says:

    Just got this email though mine was slightly different. What tipped me off first though before i looked at the email was

    Also the email was ****@swiftech.com.sg That threw me cause i was wondering why swiftech was emailing me about a trade group.
    Bad, Bad grammar, real companies have pre-written messages that have been through so many re-readings they are so PC it makes your teeth itch. This one was obviously not proofread by someone who was a native english speaker.
    Besides, with my resume nobody is offering me a $65,000 a year salary.

    Thanks for the site and the heads up though.

  8. Micki says:

    Got the same one this morning, and noticed that the writer couldn't spell twice, it was spelled twise. That is a dead give away.

  9. Suzanne says:

    thanks. I got the same one today. Figured it was fishy, googled and found your post. Good analysis!

  10. Vikram says:

    Got this same email today. The difference is that it is from Katelyn Crow ( standing@bcasia.com.sg)
    The contents are the same word for word. Thanks for the warning.

  11. Ellen says:

    I got the same wonderful offer today. I had the same type of offer from someone last week. Does anyone notice how bad the grammar and English is? If they were so rich, wouldn't they at least hire someone with good English skills so it doesn't read like a third grader wrote it?

  12. Lyn says:

    You may also wish to check the grammar/spelling on messages such as these. Poor grammatical skills are a good clue. It's what tipped me off relatively quickly.

    False hopes can be quite discouraging so may God bless you all on your job searches!

  13. Karen says:

    Add me to the list of recipients of this scam!

  14. Keith says:

    I got a similar email today from From: Floyd Brady [mailto:ehud.barak@il.ey.com]

    with a reply to: mtfg.miller.derek@gmail.com and derek.miller.mtg@gmail.com

    when I googled the company name this thread was the third organic link.

    Thanks!!!!!!

  15. Diane says:

    Hi, I normally don't bother with even checking because I don't trust anyone, BUT; something made me goolge the Morgan Trade Group. Well up jumps the devil, I see the word "SCAM." Anyway, mine came from an email address in Singapore. I believe .sg is singapore? From: Chasity Petty (lkf@cyberway.com.sg)
    Kinda makes one wonder how society has gone from a hard working working class, to a future full of pedomorphic schemers with no common sense and brain power enough to invent scams like this to rip off people who DO work hard for a living. Very sad. Thanks for your efforts. Much appreiciated.

  16. Deiadra says:

    I also received the very same e-mail on Jnauary 12, 2009. I became curious as to how anyone is going to offer me a job making that kind of money without interviewing me in person. I am glad that I was able to find this website. I would like to thank each and everyone of you all for taking the time to post your comments. Lets stop them con artist.

  17.  
Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Get an angel for your site An Angel Watches Over This Site