Got the following scam e-mail slipping through a few minutes ago. I'll post the mail and then show you how to tell it's a scam:

From: hkphycdcr@br.zurich.com
Subject: Earn up to 2000$ a month extra!

Point Focus LLC is now expanding! To deal with the international payments processings we are now looking for people willing to facilitate establishing of our all-round-the-globe business connections and assist saving considerably by tax disbursing reduction. This position of the Financial Assistant involves accepting payments from our Australian, UK and US ( rarer Spanish) clients to your account and resending to our partners.

You are getting paid right by the moment you cash the payment. It's the commission in amount equal to 4% out the sum posted on your account. This very amount you're deducting before sending anything out. So,estimated roughly, you can make up to 2000$ extra monthly.

Plus, you get:
- flexi-time (usually 2-3 hours a day)
- Saturdays & Sundays off

Requirements:
- Have to be aged 21 or above
- No criminal record
- Regular Internet access
- Ability to accept payments using your bank account
- Ability to resend the money through Western Union

If feel qualified, please, attach the following info to start up with:
- Fist Name:
- Last Name:
- Age:
- Sex:
- Country
- State, City, Zip
- Phone number (home and cell)
- Valid email address

NOTE!!!! the email address you use to contact us for the first time is: jade.focuswork.lawn@gmail.com , in the subject field put "interested".
Please, use only mentioned email address, otherwise we'll fail to receive your response.

Couple of simple ways to tell it's a scam.

First, no legitimate company needs people to cash checks for them. They can actually do it through a number of banks or financial services companies for WAY less than they're offering to pay you.

This is an old scam. They send you forged checks. You take them to the bank. They pass first inspection and the bank cashes them for you. They go to the clearinghouse, get nailed as fraudulent, the bank comes back to you and asks for its money back. You've already sent it to your "employers" and now you're on the hook for paying the bank back, plus you're an accessory to a felony.

Second, why is someone at Point Focus LLC mailing you from zurich.com (a large insurance and financial services company that would have no problem with U.S. financial transactions) and asking you to mail back to someone at a free mail account on Google's gmail? This is a very common red flag of these types of scams: they mail you with some random return address that is not related to the company they claim to represent and then ask you to mail back to a free e-mail service like Gmail, hotmail, Yahoo, etc. (though gmail is the most common).

Last, they tell you that you'll earn $2,000 a month for 10-15 hours a week of work. They're offering you $30-45 an hour for an unskilled part time position. As my father taught me: if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

I know you wanted this to be real. We all do. Times are tough and who couldn't use $2000 extra a month? But I'm sorry to say that if you bite this hook, you'll get gutted.

Best of luck to you all and God bless.

Share
4 Responses to “Job Scam: Point Focus LLC”
  1. Brainweevil says:

    You seem to get a lot of these. It's not contagious over the `net is it?

  2. Greg Bulmash says:

    Spam is very contagious.

  3. Jamie says:

    Hi

    I received 2 of these emails today, (different accounts)

    The alarm bells started ringing when I noticed it was from: no reply[+]

    The subject line: Now hiring! Click to find out! Was interesting and I assume it will draw a lot of people in. The body of the email was exactly the same as yours.

    The email respond address: pointfocusgo@gmail.com bears some resemblance to the company Point Focus LLC in the email, so again it gave some credence to the email.

    I receive quite a few of these and other types of scam emails, I can recognise them without much trouble, but out of curiosity I always do a search, because I don’t always know how they work. Many thanks for your explanation.

    As you quite rightly say " Times are tough and who couldn't use $2000 extra a month" unfortunately there are probably many desperate people out there who may be reply to this sort of email.

    When I did my search today "Point Focus LLC" it returned 396 pages in Google, so yes it is contagious, and when searching for persons named in any of the numerous Nigerian Scams, you can see it has reached epidemic proportions. The worrying thing is that it shows no sign of decreasing, so are we to assume that are we still being taken in by this? If so, how can these parasites be stopped.

  4. Notbeenhadyet! says:

    I would love to thank you for your site.. Please keep up the work. It saves people like me who are looking for honest work a lot of headache. My sister in law got the same email (Point Focus LL) at work and they are supose to have real good servers. but I guess NOT! Going to let her know it is a Scam.... I allway research first. we will let all of our friends Know. Thanks again. Notbeenhad yet!

  5.  
Get an angel for your site An Angel Watches Over This Site