Just got a new job scam. They're very vague and don't give any details, but they're showing big red flags and you just should not reply to find out more. Here's the text:

Subject: Representative Needed
From: "The Case Company (UK) Ltd" <info@case.co.uk>
To: undisclosed-recipients

We are one of the fastest growing company here in UK.Due to increase in
customers we are seeking for representative in CANADA & U.S.A. Interested
persons should email the Information Below to this email
address(thecasecom@sify.com) 1.NAME 2,ADDRESS 3, COUNTRY, 4
PHONE NUMBER 5, AGE.
Regards
Mrs.Butler Julie.
----------------------------------------------------------------
This message was sent using http://webmail.coqui.net

Okay, red flags...

  • Sent via coqui.net, a free web mail service in Puerto Rico, and that's backed up by the underlying mail headers. That pretty much shows that the info@case.co.uk "from" address was forged.
  • Rather than ask you to reply to them at case.co.uk, they ask you to reply to an address at sify.com, a Yahoo-like portal in India with free webmail accounts.
  • If they were really in the UK, their English might be a little better.

Don't reply to these people, and if you have, ignore further communications from them. I don't know what their scam is, but I can tell you right now, they're showing all the signs of a scam.

Best of luck to you all.

  • Share/Bookmark
11 Responses to “Job Scam: The Case Company (UK) LTD”
  1. Greg Bulmash says:

    Got this yet again, with the difference being that they wanted me to email them at a gmail address.

  2. Val Tutton says:

    We received the same kind of message in our e-mail this morning with the difference that they want representatives in Canada and the US to 'receive payments from clients within your region'. Sounds like a money-laundering scheme to me. Response is to a gmail.com account.

  3. Kristi M says:

    ditto on Val's message - did check out the company and it seemed ligit but still randomly looking for strangers to collect payment in another country? pfft

  4. crystal says:

    I too received one of these scam emails today, I've posted it for all to see!

    Attn:
    I am Mrs. Julie Butler (CEO) THE CASE COMPANY UK LTD. I here by wish to inform you that the company is recruiting representatives from USA and CANADA. Your duties are to receive payment from clients within your region. Interested persons should contact me via email (thecasecompany2008@yahoo.com.hk) with the details below: =FULL NAME: CONTACT ADDRESS: CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE: PHONE NUMBER:

    Regards
    Mrs. Julie Butler (CEO)

    I felt compelled to reply...not.

  5. Mike says:

    This is the first time I got this but red flags went up straight away. Glad you had this up so the scam could be confirmed.

  6. Tammy says:

    unfortunately I did respond to the email (stupid..stupid) and this is the response I got.

    ________________________
    Employment Approval Letter.
    The Case Company (UK) Ltd
    Unit 3, Leighton Court
    Lower Eggleton
    Ledbury HR8 2UN.
    Telephone: +44-703-193-8407

    Attn:Tammy Beals

    This is to notify you that your response and details to our employment proposal is received
    and your employment as our representative in your region has been approved.

    DUTIES:
    As part time staff/Representative we shall instruct client who are
    not able to send payment over sea to make out payment to you for
    the company.

    BENEFITS.
    Note that for every transaction processed, you will receive 10% of the
    total amount. Our product price range starts at $3,200.00. At
    10% you are guaranteed a minimum of $320+ per order.
    We guarantee that you can start making money as early as this weeks,
    and you don't need to invest your money, just your spare time to
    process orders via email.

    We will need you to please re-confirm your details before we instruct client to send payment to you for item This is to ensure that there is no mistake whatsoever to enable safe delivery of funds and issued in the correct name. You are required to supply the below information as follow:-

    1= Full Name:-

    2= Address (for delivery of funds):

    3= Telephone Number:-

    4= Age (date of birth):-

    FOR ONLINE TRANSFER OF FUNDS

    5a= Name of Bank you are banking with:-
    b= Account Details :-

    6a= Do you have Equity Online Credit Account ? :-
    b=Account Details :-

    7a=Do you have Credit Card ? :-
    b=Credit Card Details :-

    I await your mail with the requested details soonest.

    Best Regards,
    Mrs. Julie Butler (CEO)
    The Case Company (UK) Ltd
    ____________________________

    ARE THESE PEOPLE MAD, WHO IN THE HELL IN THEIR RIGHT MIND IS GOING TO SUPPLY BANKING INFORMATION OVER THE INTERNET. Geesh.

  7. Ryan says:

    Tammy,

    Asking for the bank account number is BAD!!! That can lead to a drain of your bank account.

    Is anyone getting the scams about claiming money? I get these daily!
    Here is an example email I got....

    Hello,
    I am Mrs Janette Lawrence, Credit Accounting officer of Lloyds TSB Bank.
    I am contacting you for a possible business transfer worth 22.5 Million
    Pounds. It will be in my interest to finish this transaction with
    you hoping that you will not cheat or blackmail me at the conclusion of
    this goal because i have planned it for long.
    If you can be a collaborator to this transaction, please indicate your
    positive interest immediately for us to proceed. Remember this is
    absolutely confidential because my Bank does not know about it. Your
    contact phone numbers and name will be necessary for this effect.
    Thank you for your time and attention.
    Warmest regards,
    Mrs, Janette Lawrence
    Credit Accounting Officer,
    Lloyds TSB Bank

  8. Greg Bulmash says:

    Ryan,

    That letter is the opening salvo in an "advance fee" scam. It's just like the family member of the Nigerian official who needs your help transferring 27 million and will pay you 10 or 20 percent.

    Once you agree, suddenly there's a delay and they need money from you to help grease the wheels to get money released. You keep running into more and more costly delays until you're broke or give up. And, if you provide your banking information for the transfer, they may empty your account too.

    Note she says "this is absolutely confidential because my Bank does not know about it." Does that sound legit or like she's trying to get you to be an accomplice in a crime?

  9. Maureen says:

    Stupid me I have been looking for an at home job and replied with my name address phone# age thinking this was legit from one of my resumes!!! Hopefully nothing will come of it I have since blocked the "Case Company" . Although I must admit if they had asked for banking etc infio I would have caught on immediately.

  10. Carl says:

    These people are sick, I am sure many people fall for this as the economy goes down the toilet. Thank you G W Bush
    The Case Company (UK) Ltd
    Unit 3, Leighton Court
    Lower Eggleton
    Ledbury HR8 2UN.

    Dear E-mail Owner,
    A Free part time work from home and get paid without affecting your
    current job. All we want you to do is just for you to receive and process
    payment from our clients in USA & CANADA.Why we need a representative in
    USA/CANADA is because of our increasing rate of customers there.
    Please make sure you do fill your contact address properlly.

    Full Name:-
    Contact Address:-
    City:-
    State:-
    Zip-Code:-
    Age:-
    Occupation:-
    Fax/Tel No:-
    Country:-

    Reply Strictly on Email:-((thecasecompany2008@yahoo.com.hk))

    Best Regard,
    Mrs.Julie Butler (Recruitment manager)

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    This message was sent using http://webmail.coqui.net

  11. Kim says:

    When I recieved the email asking for my banking, credit card information I told them I wouldn't give that info to my own grandmother and told them not to contact me again. The next day I received an email saying the transfer was about to begin. I was confused because I didn't give them any banking infornmation. The next day I received 2 fed ex envelopes in them. One very real looking cheque payable to myself for $3800 and another the same payable to someone I never heard of. They want me to deposit the cheque into my account and then immediately wire money to 2 people in Calgary Alberta. There is only a name, city and postal code for those people, no address. They emailed me twice today demanding I make the transfer. I think its time to get the police involved. Anyone else have this happen?

  12.  
Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Get an angel for your site An Angel Watches Over This Site