Just got the following job scam e-mail slipping through my spam filters. I'll print out the letter below, and then show you how to tell it's a scam.
From: "Sandy Lucas" <dimensions@starhub.net.sg>
Subject: Shipping and Receiving
Shipping and Receiving Clerk
Company: Cargo NOW!
Location: USA, all states
Pay Rate: $70 per shipped package
Available in: USA only
Relocation: Not required
Read the rest of this entry »
Tags: job scam
15 Comments »
Got this bogus mail just a few minutes ago...
From: Emma Dunwin-Dunwin Staffing
Hi Greg,
If you are still in the Business Development job market or if you are looking to expand your professional network in the Lynnwood area, here is a great site for job search and career tools.
Regards,
Emma Dunwin
Senior Partner
Dunwin Staffing
I am using Joined for professional networking and more...
Like the BNR-National scam, this e-mail used a purportedly legitimate mail service provider, bettermail.ca, to send the mail and track clicks on the links. Both the words "job search" in the body text and "joined" in the footer were click-tracked links to joined.com.
A check of the headers shows it was sent through Bettermail's servers. Since Bettermail claims they're opt-in only, either Bettermail's lying or these folks forged my opt-in.
But here's the even more damning thing. Dunwin Staffing's domain, dunwinstaffing.com, bounces you straight to Joined.com. Furthermore, if you look up the registration, it's registered by "Domains By Proxy" meaning the owner is hiding their true identity.
Either Joined.com is engaged in spammy, scuzzy promotional tactics or they've partnered with someone who is. Unless they publicly apologize for this partner and IDENTIFY this partner on their front page, I will be forced to conclude that they are either engaging in or condoning spam.
Tags:
job scam
29 Comments »