Posts Tagged “job scams”

Just got this faked "Career Builder" e-mail (Career Builder's e-mails are sent through their servers, not through Earthlink) from "Charlotte Wallace".

Here's the text:

Thank you for your interest. After viewing your resume on careerbuilder.com, we have decided to contact you.

We have an excellent opportunity for you.

We are looking for:

Responsible and motivated individuals to assist in Company’s financial business. We value the exceptional people and provide our employees with an environment conductive for productive and long-term employment.

We offer:
- New concept. Commissions without sales.
- VERY competitive salary plus attractive bonuses plus commissions with each order
- No Fees
- You can start tomorrow
- Compensation: $85,000 - $95,000 per year
- Employee Type: Full-Time/Part-Time
- Vacation (2 weeks for Exempt employees)
- 4 paid Company Holidays / 2 paid floating holidays

Large and stable corporation

Requirements:

- MS Office (Word) - basic knowledge
- Internet access and e-mail
- A sufficient level of work ethics
- Ability to learn fast and perform tasks in a timely fashion
- U.S. resident or green card holder
- You are not required to quit your current job.

DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES:

- Assist in company’s financial business.
- Perform financial tasks.
- Make reports.

We offer opportunities for internal advancement for the responsible employees. During the initial stage of work you will receive precise instructions and any possible help from the company’s Manager. Qualified candidates will be offered flexible schedules of work, competitive salary, bonuses and other benefits. Company covers all the reasonable expenses.

You will be able to plan your own working schedule (few hours weekly).

Please reply to this email if you are interested.

Hiring Department

The reply address is diagnosticparts@aol.com.

Read through my "job scams" tagged posts and you'll see this come-on over and over. Financial job, easy hours, work from home, perform financial tasks, good pay. Sounds too good to be true... because it is. The job usually entails receiving "customer payments" via forged checks or hacked PayPal accounts. You cash out the payment, take the cash to Western Union, and wire it off to your "employer" in another country. You're instructed to take a percentage of the payment for yourself as your commission.

Sounds great until the check fails to clear or the PayPal fraud is discovered, as always happens. Then the money for it is pulled out of your account. If you had enough to cover it, you're out the amount of the check. If you didn't, the bank that gave you the money wants it back and will involve the police.

No legitimate company needs a U.S. representative to cash checks for them and wire them the money via Western Union.

If someone you don't know offers you an amazing job cashing checks or receiving and forwarding packages (stolen goods paid for from hacked PayPal accounts or with credit card fraud), they're usually a criminal and they're trying to make you an unwitting accessory. They will leave you owing money you don't have, and maybe a few weeks closer to financial ruin because you weren't out job hunting because you thought you had a new job.

Be safe out there people, and if you are job hunting, good luck.

Share

Comments 5 Comments »

Got this a couple of days ago, getting through my gmail spam filter:

How are you? I represent Dealmax LTD Personnel Dept. and I'm responsible for
headhunting among the candidates for the open positions with our
organization. We have read with interest your information disclosed at
Career Builder site detailing your relevant work experience and
qualifications and want to offer you a well-paid part-time job opportunity.
We believe you can be considered as a successful candidate for the vacancy.
If you are interested in our company and in more information on this
position, feel free to contact the HR.

Thank you for your consideration and have a nice day.

Aside from the standard "if it seems to be too good to be true, it is" and the standard caution against unsolicited recruitment offers from Hotmail accounts (this one came from Hermione Z. Jefferson - ven4456medema@hotmail.com), the biggest red flag is their return address.

The reply address was Recruitment@DealmaxLtd.com. The domain DealmaxLtd.com was registered on February 2, 2011. Yes, just 5 days ago. If you've got dirty laundry older than the company's domain, that's a HUGE red flag.

Be careful of these folks.

Share

Comments 6 Comments »

This one just slipped through my spam filters, and I thought I'd share. As usual, the letter and then a debunking below it.

Dear Sir/Madam,

1st Delivery Inc. offers an opportunity to apply for a full/part time position of Delivery Service Assistant for the United States citizens and legal aliens (Note: Previous experience in the delivery service is not required).

1st Delivery Inc. is a premier global provider of delivery service solutions, specializing in the international delivery solutions, with the long-term commitment history.

Read the rest of this entry »

Share

Comments 41 Comments »

Just got the following e-mail slipping through my spam filters. I'll post it below, then show you how to tell it's a scam.

From:Enid Friend <[they used MY e-mail address as the From address]>
Received: from [93.122.135.24] (helo=abbotsford.k12.wi.us)
Subject: Position Opening

Hello

Prime Group has a new vacancy opened in your region.
Please read this email and see if you will be a good match for this available position!
Prime Group Inc. is a world-famous company founded in Eastern Europe with branches throughout Europe, Asia and North America.

Two to three hours a day in the leisure of your home performing your duties over the Internet is sufficient for this position.
We provide one month paid training period. During your training you receive online training and phone support.
At the end of the evaluation period supervisor will make the final decision to extend job offer or not.

Read the rest of this entry »

Share

Comments 4 Comments »

Get an angel for your site An Angel Watches Over This Site