Posts Tagged “job scams”

Got this scam e-mail slipping through my spam filters today. It's disguised to look like it came from/through CareerBuilder, but that's forged. I'll post the text and then we'll examine the warning signs afterward.

Dear Applicant,

We have an exciting opportunity with our company for: Accounts Payable Manager/Payments Processor in your area with no need of relocation

New concept: Commissions without sales!!
Job Snapshot

Compensation: $85,000 - $95,000 per year
Employee Type: Full-Time Employee
Manages Others: Yes

Job Type:

Accounting - Finance
Admin - Clerical
Customer Service
Desired Education Level: High School
Read the rest of this entry »

  • Share/Bookmark

Comments 20 Comments »

Got this one slipping through my spam filters a few minutes ago. I'll post the mail then debunk it below.

From:Alissa Rugh <allhprugh@hotmail.com>
Subject: Work ads (computer job 2009). Summer season. ID:[removed]

Solid company is currently looking for new employees.

We are offering home based part time work on computer.

Job Description:

We are providing the texts which are to be edited. You revise and correct
the texts for spelling and grammar mistakes as an english speaking person, and send them back to us.

Salary:

We don't have a fixed salary for this vacancy. We will pay you $7.00 per 1Kb of the text which
you revise (you will receive 4-5Kb of texts every day)
The salary is due once a month.

Example: If you correct about 5Kb of texts per day you will get over $1050.00 at the end of the working month.

If you are a US citizen, native English speaker, older than 24, and have PC and access to the Internet, feel free to apply.

We need you to fill in the following application form, and e-mail it to: ronald_hernandez@mail.ru

Full name:
Full Address:
Contact phone number: (available)
Contact E-mail Address:

We will respond within one business day.

We are waiting for your application!

While the translator/editor scam is not nearly as common as the check-cashing and package forwarding scams, it can often turn into the check cashing scam, as well as potentially end up in identity theft and more.

I've received a VERY similar letter to this for the Dating Euro Union, promising about $1,000 a month for correcting around 5k of text a day. You can read the experiences of people who answered them. Some detailed stories start around comment #27.

The fact that the offer is unsolicited and they're in Russia (the reply address with the .ru extension) should make you cautious. The fact that they don't even tell you the name of their company should make you cautious. The fact that they don't address you by name should make you cautious. The fact they're sending the mail from hotmail.com (i.e. free webmail service) and asking you to reply to an entirely different address at another domain, should make you cautious.

I know how hard it is out there. I'm job-hunting too. But it's hard times when the pickings are the most ripe for these scumbags because they prey on desperation. Don't be so desperate (or greedy) you throw caution to the wind.

Be careful out there.

  • Share/Bookmark

Comments 16 Comments »

Got the following job scam slipped through my spam filters just a few minutes ago. I'll post the e-mail and then point out the scam warning signs.

FROM: NEWMAN BENTON <newman9d8a5rul03benton@hotmail.com>
SUBJECT: Your Resume is considered for the job position. ID 3135

Hi.

Exclusive Realty is a European prosperous real estate company. Exclusive Realty offers a whole range of professional services associated with realty. Because of a need to expand targeted group population and to amplify areas for the services that we offer, we are looking for regional Customer Service Manager.

Read the rest of this entry »

  • Share/Bookmark

Comments No Comments »

Just got this job scam slipping through my spam filters. I'll post the e-mail, then discuss why it's a scam afterward.

From: Ines ROBERTSON <barnesgebyfy86@gmail.com>
Subject: Work opportunity for you

Greetings,

You have got this message because we came across your curriculum vatae in one of the jobseeker sites.
At the present moment TransBridge Inc. is seeking for the candidates in the the United States, the UK, Australia and all European countries for the post of financial agent.

JOB NATURE: payment processing between our customers sellers and buyers.

WORKING TIME: part-time position with flexible time-schedule.

NOTA BENE: No investments or subscriptions from our candidates! No costs have not to buy anything), experince or specific professional skills are required! Dont be deceived with the suggestions about remote job where you are required pay money to the companies which promise to provide you with the job.
This is the 100% guaranteed legal job!

COMPENSATION: $2,000 and above per month plus commission + bonuses.

QUALIFICATION

* Excellent oral, written, and communicative skills
* Superb managerial skills
* Proficient in Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Word
* Professional Attitude
* Strong working ethic

REQUIREMENTS
* MUST be money motivated, team player, self-starter
* You must be willing to work in your location, part time or full time
* You must be over 24 years old
* You must have the nationality of the before-mentioned countries
* You should be able to start working immediately

If you got interested in our job offer, please provide us via email with the following information and we'll contact you within two days:

- full name
- address
- regular phone number

To be removed from our destination list please reply REMOVE to this email.

PLEASE, DON'T REPLY TO THIS EMAIL. WE WOULD KINDLY ASK YOU TO SEND YOUR DATA TO THE FOLLOWING EMAIL ADDRESStranbrdg@yahoo.com

Sincerely yours,
TransBrigde Inc.
HR manager
Andrew Kalush

Read the rest of this entry »

  • Share/Bookmark

Comments 31 Comments »

Get an angel for your site An Angel Watches Over This Site